1ST- Quote to tie on

Stumbled upon a challenge for the new year called 365 Writing Prompts, and this one, I want to pursue. Not just so I can say “I got into a challenge”, but more of to practice writing and to somehow make me think faster and more creatively (if that’s possible). I may not do it every day and I wont be following the topics sequentially, but I will promise to write when I get the time. Maybe even try and make time for it, if I’m already that dedicated. Yes, I’m committing to this relationship.

***

1ST: QUOTE ME

Do you have a favorite quote that you return to again and again? What is it, and why does it move you?

***

“Perfer et Obdura; dolor hic tibi proderit olim” | “Be patient and tough; one day this pain will be useful to you” – Ovid

“Dum Spiro Spero” | “While I breathe, I hope”

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” | Philippians 4:13

I could not choose the most ‘cos really, they’re all on the same page for me. In a way, I find their connection and I love how the combination of words are so powerful.

I first read “Perfer et Obdura; dolor hic tibi proderit olim” in a book when I was in my first year in college and after I read the translation, even the latin words, of course didn’t sink in to me at first but it just wont go away. It kind of felt like it haunted me and it was both creepy and fascinating. And being the contemplative person that I am, I squeezed myself into it and felt the world knocking some, no, let me rephrase that- knocking ‘massive’ sense into me.

Yes, I’m  guilty of being the ever-so-sensitive person which is both good and, mostly though, bad. I get spared from hurting people by always reflecting on how one action might affect another person or the people involved. But when it comes to myself, I run away from facing what’s there when it hits that pain alarm I’ve set myself with. *Emergency car coming through, let’s get there way before it even gets near the skin or this kid will lose herself* Lame, right? I figured it out myself early enough, I guess. Thank God.

We never actually learn how to be strong from the good and happy, more so from the still and safe. We don’t get to move forward if we keep on hiding. Or we may be running, but it’s most likely away from where we should head. To refuse confronting the challenges and being afraid to make mistakes because we know it’ll lead to somewhere ugly, overthrows the sole purpose of pain- and that is to teach us and make us better and stronger. When the going gets tough, it should make us tougher. Not a bunch of whiners.

Which gets me to my other favorite, “Dum Spiro Spero” which is probably the simplest yet sensible one. I was jobless then, so I had time to enter the steep holes in the world wide web while I feel like a useless speck in the universe. It felt like forever. But at least it lead me to this quote that smack-dabbed me in the face and woke my hopeful-self up.

Since everything in life is but temporary, of course it goes the same with the negative ones we encounter. It can stay but only for so long, and only if we allow it to. Who told who that our fate will carry us to where we should be without us doing anything at all? Who in the right mind would ever be serious about leaving it all up to someone else, like with the famous line “bahala na si batman”?

Life is what we make it. We can and will determine our fate by the way we look and live our lives. We don’t let circumstances lead or even maneuver our lives. We’re not born just to go auto-pilot when we want to or when we think we’re better off that way. We grab a hold on to hope, and we move. We may go slow or fast, but as long as we make the most out of what we are capable of and what was given to us, we’re doing our lives some honorable justice.

Of course, this leads to the last but definitely not the least of my 3 favorite quotes which is from The Bible, Philippians 4:13- “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”. Yes, I say we do what we can and have to do, but we can never do it right without the best back up there is, which is of course, our God. All the things we do, will all seem irrelevant without His help and if not offered to Him.

We may have plans on how to run our fate, but it’s just about right to hook it up to what He wants for us- since it’s all about what we best deserve anyway. Of course He knows. If we’re on the right track, He’ll be that long track of light leading us to it and if we let Him (I mean, who wouldn’t want it??), He’d even carry us through the ‘obstacle courses’ that even you yourself can’t believe you got through it all. This passage is really just one of the best reminders that everything is possible, as long as you do it for and with Him.

One thought on “1ST- Quote to tie on

Got a thing to leave behind?

