‘Cos heaven’s got a plan for me

United Republiq

United Republiq- All Access strap for Production Team

United Republiq is an electronic music assembly for the benefit of those who were affected by the typhoon Yolanda, held last November 21, 2013 at the Mall of Asia concert grounds featuring NO_ID, Nicky Romero and Axwell of Swedish House Mafia. Also with DJ Ace Ramos, DJ Marc Naval, Martin Pulgar and Mars Miranda.

It’s actually nice how I was, in a way, able to help the Yolanda victims by being part of this event. I was supposed to help out on packing the relief goods at St. Scholastica’s College a week before but I had to finish my requirements. It made me feel bad, but then I was assigned to this so it was some kind of a back-up on helping out. I mean I didn’t do much or give out money, but I’d like to think that being one of the people behind the event is about enough help from someone like me. At least for now.

The load of work wasn’t really that big since we weren’t the only ones assigned for the event, and I’m still new so it’s a given that they wouldn’t give me something big. Though the VP told me that I was quite lucky that clients backed out from their events because of what Yolanda did, if not, they’d be letting me handle something right away. That could have formed a twirl of equal excitement and anxiety. And that’s not a complain.

Before and on the event itself, after months of being idle specifically on doing events, between the check-listing, assembly, and running after whoever I should coordinate with, I felt alive again. That feeling of “Yes, I am actually doing something productive already!” that I sincerely missed. I’ve been quite the active person with the events in our organization before so that excitement is nothing new.

The funny thing, though, is that I even felt emotional after the event. Maybe it was because of how Axwell waved the Philippine flag while playing “save the world” or how I’ve thought about how much help the event had made. Or maybe it was also because of where I am now and how a lot had happen and changed in just a week. But really, it’s because of all of it.

It’s really overwhelming how things work out for the better all the time. How all the unexplainable twist of fate carry you out from what you thought was your last resort, but actually drops you to a place of more potential and a place where you finally feel the want to grow on. Yes, it may still be too early to tell, but I have this feeling that I can get used to this place and the work. That I can finally say that this is a job that turns into joy. Prior to my other post, (link:) “See you soon”, this may not be my greatest dream nor is it my number one choice, but I’m getting the hint that this is where I really ought to be. I believe in fate, but if you’d like to think that this is probably accidental, then this is some kind of a sweet serendipity.

P.S.

The title of this post is a ‘personalized’ lyric of Swedish House Mafia’s Don’t you worry child, just ‘cos I love the legitimate specific phrase of “Don’t you worry child, see heaven’s got a plan for you”, and of course also to connect to who was at the event. You get it.

Got a thing to leave behind?

